, Corbin, KY

November 30, 2012

2012 Times-Tribune Tri-County Prep Football Team

The Times-Tribune

CORBIN — By Les Dixon / Sports Editor

It came down to a four-player race when deciding on who to pick for the 2012 Times-Tribune Football Player of the Year.

Knox Central's Jeffrey Canady, Williamsburg's Dylan Sizemore and Jacob Jeffers along with North Laurel's Michael Nelson each put up impressive numbers, but in the end, the award went to Canady again for the second straight year.

Canady also captured the Punter of the Year honors along with the Offensive Player of the Year award and Running Back of the Year. He ran for 2,013 yards on the ground while finishing with 257 receiving yards while reaching the end zone 31 times. He also finished with more than 500 yards in the return game and had two interceptions and 77 tackles on defense.

But that's not all.

He also averaged 48 yards a punt while leaving Knox Central holding records in rushing (career), receiving (career), interceptions (career), points scored (career) and single game records in rushing and points scored.

Canady's brother, Hayden, was named Defensive Player of the Year and Linebacker of the Year.

Canady joins former  South Laurel quarterback Ricky Bowling as the only two-time winners of the Player of the Year award, while Corbin's Matthew Taylor, Lynn Camp’s Jimmy Chaffin and Joe Roskopf, Whitley County co-winners Cody Jones and Jason Powers and Williamsburg’s Ryan Moses have also won the Player of the Year award.

Williamsburg coach Jerry Herron won the Coach of the Year award for the third straight season while Whitley County's Zack Mills was named Newcomer of the Year.

Knox Central made it a clean sweep on the defensive side of the ball as Armani Wardlaw was named Defensive Lineman of the Year while teammate Matt Barger captured the Defensive Back of the Year honors.

On offense, Williamsburg quarterback Dalton Sizemore won the Quarterback of the Year award for the second straight season and teammate Jacob Jeffers won the Offensive Lineman Player of the Year award. Whitley County's Boston Bryant was named Fullback of the Year for the second straight year. Williamsburg's Corey Shelton took home Receiver of the Year honors and North Laurel's Keaton Kennedy was named Kicker of the Year for the second straight season.