, Corbin, KY

November 21, 2012

Local teams bring home first round of postseason football awards

North, South players make District 7 team

The Times-Tribune

CORBIN — By Les Dixon / Sports Editor

North Laurel placed six players on the Class 5A, District 7 team while South Laurel had three.

Madison Southern’s Damien Harris was named Player of the Year after rushing for 1,911 yards on the ground while and scoring 37 touchdowns.

Pulaski County’s Johnny Hines was tabbed as the Coach of the Year after guiding his team to a District 7 championship along with an appearance in the Class 5A, Region 4 title game.

North Laurel’s Michael Nelson, Gabe Blair, Rashawn Andrews, Cole Lewis, Jake McFadden and Josh Velasco were named to the District 7 team along with South Laurel’s Austin Schaser, Jason Mitchell and Josh Phelps.

Class 5A, District 7 All-District Team

Pulaski County

1) Tyler Goins (RB)

2) Aaron Smith (OLB)

3) Keenan Hall (DE)

4) Jacob Gross (G)

5) Isaiah Jasper (C)

6) Jacob Denney (SS)

7) Riley Hall (QB)

8) Collin Hau-Blair (OLB)

Madison Southern (7)

1) ) Adam Simpson (QB)

2) Spencer Stone (TE)

3) Tyler Hagan (LB)

4) Aaron Sipple (LB)

5) Clayton Barnes (OT)

6) Derek Howard (DT)

7) Devante Linville (WR)

North Laurel

1) Michael Nelson (QB)

2) Gabe Blair (RB)

3) Rashawn Andrews (DL)

4) Cole Lewis (WR)

5) Jake McFadden (LB)

6) Josh Velasco (LB)

Lincoln County

1) Jonathan Hardwick (LB)

2) Austin McClure (DT)

3) Logan Martin (RB)

4) Chris Luster (OL)

5) Andrew Wilkes (OL)


1) Trent Massey (OL)

2) Tyler Dodson (DE)

3) Jordan Maggard (RB)

4) Jesse Meece (LB)

South Laurel

1)Austin Schaser

2)Jason Mitchell

3)Josh Phelps