, Corbin, KY

February 8, 2013

Corbin Schools recognized in Frankfort

The Times-Tribune

CORBIN — By Jeff Noble, Staff Writer

The recognition earned by the Corbin Independent School district during last year’s K-PREP testing has come full circle in a ceremony in Frankfort.

The district was one of eight in the state to get the recognition as a “District of Distinction” by the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) and the Kentucky Department of Education, during the board’s meeting held Wednesday.

Superintendent Ed McNeel and Board Chairperson Kim Croley were presented with a recognition banner and a letter of commendation by state Commissioner of Education Terry Holliday and KBE Board Chair David Karem. Corbin Independent and the other seven districts also received a District of Distinction logo, which can be displayed to promote their achievement on their website, school board letterhead or in other forms.

“What I saw in Frankfort and after talking to the other schools recognized, it’s good to know what we’re doing collectively with all those districts gives you a great feeling that you’re doing a really wonderful job for the students,” McNeel said Thursday evening after the banner was returned to Corbin.

“What struck me the most about our district is we’re a district where every school, every employee, every teacher, every principal and every administrator worries and cares about their students. That’s how we got there to be recognized in Frankfort,” added Croley at the district’s board meeting Thursday at Corbin Intermediate School.

Corbin Independent earned the recognition under the first year of the state’s “Unbridled Learning: College and Career Readiness for All” accountability system. District-wide, Corbin got an overall score of 66.9, with a percentile rank in Kentucky at 97, and was classified as “Distinguished.”

The achievement data was based on the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) testing that was held in the spring of 2012.

To qualify, a public school district in Kentucky had to have an overall accountability score at the 95th percentile or higher, based on achievement, gap, growth, college and career readiness and graduation rate. It must also meet its current year Annual Measurable Objective, a 95-percent participation rate, and not have a Focus or Priority School in their district.

The other seven districts getting the recognition were Anchorage Independent in Jefferson County, Beechwood Independent, Fort Thomas Independent and Walton-Verona Independent in northern Kentucky, Boyle County, Murray Independent in far western Kentucky, and Pikeville Independent in eastern Kentucky.