, Corbin, KY

November 7, 2012

Three newcomers get B’ville City Council nod

The Times-Tribune

CORBIN — Times-Tribune Staff Report

Three incumbents and three newcomers were among the winners in the Barbourville City Council race Tuesday, according to that county’s election results.

Incumbents Wilma Barnes, Gerald Hyde and Gary Williams were tapped to serve another term taking 571, 506 and 478 votes respectively.

Also serving on the council will be Sherman Lawson, with 579 votes, Ronnie Moore, with 560 votes and Darren West, with 504 votes.

Incumbent Johnny Farmer lost his seat. He had 335 votes. Other candidates who fell short and their vote totals were Bennie Bunch, 230, Danny Stark, 289, and Jerry Jackson, 463.  

City voters also selected two of three candidates for the Barbourville Independent Schools Board of Education, where incumbents Kenneth G. Cobb fell short with 426 votes. Winners were incumbent Shirley F. Treadway  with 545 votes and challenger Sandy Tye Lundy with 579 votes.

The race for the Knox County Schools Board of Education saw three upsets with incumbent losses.

The District 3 race saw incumbent Marty “Hossie” Smith take 604 votes to challenger Charles W. Meridia’s 645 votes. In District 4, incumbent Kenneth Crawford took 745 votes to Dexter Smith’s 960 and, in District 5, voters chose challenger Merrill Smith with 1,222 votes over incumbent Clarence Brown, who took 1,015 votes.

In the constable race in District 2, Johnny Gray had 935 votes and Tom Gray had 615 votes.